The Home Depot Claimed Company
The Home Depot, the world’s largest home improvement specialty retailer, values and rewards dedicated, knowledgeable... read more
EMPLOYEE
PARTICIPANTS
2680
TOTAL
RATINGS
37577
...
HR or Marketing? Claim Your Free Employer Account

The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Out of 5688 The Home Depot employee reviews, 78% were positive. The remaining 22% were constructive reviews with the goal of helping The Home Depot improve their work culture. The IT team, with 98% positive reviews, reports the best experience at The Home Depot compared to all other departments at the company. The Communications team offered the most constructive feedback, with 40% of that department's reviews constructive in nature.

What do you like best about the leadership team?

Leadership Reviews

Well for the whole as a whole management is very poor there alot of favoritism among management especially amongst associates

Posted 7 days ago

Diverse and knowledgable. Kimd and understanding

Posted 16 days ago

The openness and the open door policy

Posted 16 days ago

Our Assistant Manager is good and very supportive. Our Store Manager is not taking care of associates though in the beginning she was the one you could go upto and she would support in a professional way

Posted 20 days ago

None have a full understanding of their responsibilities.

Posted 21 days ago

What does the leadership team need to get better at?

Leadership Reviews

Actually treatinf employees with respect. They never ask them how they are or if they need help they just make you do things that make them look better

Posted 14 days ago

Leading, and training outside of a chair.

Posted 25 days ago

Communication, transparency, zero tolerance for bullies (store manager included. Less overt favoritism, and less acceptance of lazy work ethics from the management team. Less pettiness.

Review from Customer Support Dept · Posted a month ago

Same standards for all employees

Take care of the wokers who work

What is the best part about your compensation package?

Compensation Reviews

As a Specialist its very basic pay. We are paid hourly and no comissions . Not even a yearly increase . Surviving because husband is in IT .Cannot afford to live on my pay

Posted 20 days ago

Its pretty decent overall yeab

Posted 21 days ago

The Vision, 401k, and bonuses.

Posted 25 days ago

It is fair for a common retail job such as this one and hence I take no issue with it.

Posted a month ago

Matching funds for retirement account

Why do you feel undervalued and what would make you feel better about your compensation?

Compensation Reviews

Better base, transparency of salary among peers, visibility to pay grade and range

Posted 17 days ago

No time devoted to detailed training. You train yourself and do your best and suffer the criticism. Treat employees that are working below poverty wages with some credit for showing up.

Posted 21 days ago

$20 an hour minimum. Respect for the work I do.

Posted 21 days ago

They are hiring new employees and paying them more than the existing employees expected to train them. Horribly unethical work practice, breeds toxicity.

Review from Customer Support Dept · Posted a month ago

16/hour while dealing with racist and non vaccinated customers. Hard physically demanding work.

What are some of the best things about your team?

Team Reviews

They actually help me to learn new things and teach me new stuff about my jov

Posted 14 days ago

Happy smart people . Except the Department supervisor all others are great

Posted 20 days ago

Those who want to work hold up the management and try to hold others to the same standards.

Posted 25 days ago

While some could do better at communicating, they are always very cordial and helpful which is just about all I can ask for in a coworker.

Posted a month ago

My teammates, peer associates are great people.

Review from Customer Support Dept · Posted a month ago

What do your coworkers need to improve and how could you work together better?

Team Reviews

Honestly I think the whole company of home depot needs to have more topics and discussions about the LGBTQ. I want to be in an environment we're im celebrated not tolerated

Posted 22 days ago

Hire older people as much as possible

Get held accountable, lots of associates doing nothing and very few gave to take up the slack

Associates that refused to work are coddled and never held accountable. Stop placing lazy associates in high paced departments not only do the employees suffer but the customers do. Our work has to be completed in a timely manner but it has to be done with a least a little bit of care.

As a new employee, you are constantly tossed around from person to person asking questions and asking for people who operate certain equipment. Often times its like searching for the holy grail trying to find the right person you need and it feels like no one wants to help if they dont have to.

What is most positive about the culture and environment at your company?

Environment Reviews

Easy to get hired because turnover is at least 70%

Posted 21 days ago

The associates and customers. The job can be fulfilling if everyone is on the same page.

Posted 25 days ago

The spirit of helpfulness and dependability that at least those who work in my store all have, which is a big part of what THD is all about.

Posted a month ago

they welcome everyone and support them.

No one contacts me after work

What needs to change to make the company culture better?

Environment Reviews

The store manager should be replaced.

Review from Customer Support Dept · Posted a month ago

They need to stop playing favorites and actually train new associates. They also need to relax when their understaffed, they treat the employees rudely when their stressed out. All in all I just work there for the pay.

Review from Operations Dept

Merit raises and true recognition

Review from Executive Dept

Quit promoting people based on favoritism and cronyism. Home Depot seems to promote the people that stand around and talk and don't really do any work.

1 associate decides the tempo of the day. Which is always negative

What did you like most about the interview process?

Interviews Reviews

Each supervisor interview me & introduce themselves went over on my work experience how I found out about the company the company history & etc.

Posted 22 days ago

It was very average for a company.

Posted 25 days ago

My relatable interviewer who was very kind and optimistic about my abilities, despite knowing that I am autistic.

Posted a month ago

they always get back to you.

It was done on a low key and friendly way

What would you improve about your company's interview process?

Interviews Reviews

Actually interview employees and train them

Posted 14 days ago

No interview required and I did not have to show I.d.

Posted 21 days ago

Annoyingly easy. They just seemed to need bodies.

There needs to be less leniency within the hiring process: asking more situational questions and about previous employment.

I would take the word of the person being intetviewed as solid information And then test them on a few spur of the moment questions relating to what they say they are good at!

What makes you most happy at work?

Outlook Reviews

What meets me happy when I work for the company assisting customers and making sure there's needs are met. Connecting with link minded like myself

Posted 22 days ago

Fling the shelfs so customers can find items

Posted 25 days ago

The people I work with and the fun tasks that are given to me like picking up garbage out back or out front and being able to throw the bag down the chute.

Posted a month ago

The end of my shift.

Review from Customer Support Dept · Posted a month ago

flexible work hours and good support from everyone.

What's going wrong and how can it be improved?

Outlook Reviews

The employees inside have no discipline because they all just bow down to their managers so the managers never do anything bad to them

Posted 14 days ago

Not enough people show up to meet demands of so called leads. The best are actively looking for a better job.

Posted 21 days ago

Workers with knowledge and positive work ethic

Our store is rated high as far as sales, but I watch them lose thousands and customers daily. Employee retention horrible. Customer service ratings really bad. But that is because of the poorly managed departments. Also orders are never where they are supposed to be. Wrong things getting delivered

Customer service is almost nonexistent at Home Depot they have one person covering hardware one person covering electrical, one person covering plumbing and they have to cover 6 to 8 aisles each. I see customers waiting 10 minutes for an associate to come help them because they have three other peo

What do you like best about your company?

Outlook Reviews

DEALING WITH MY CUSTOMERS IN A FRIENDLY AND KNOWLADGABLE WAY

My coworkers because they make The Home Depot feel like a second home.

The fact that each day I go in I know I am working the best I can and feel as though I accomplished my tasks.

My co workers, and the benefit package

Availability of products I use at home

Review from Product Dept

What would you most like to see improved at your company?

Outlook Reviews

MORE INCINTIVE TO GET THE HOME DEPOT CARD APPLICATIONS AND THE SURVEYS DONE WITH MY CUSTOMERS LEAVING WITH A GOOD EXPERIENCE

A greater focus on departmental training.

I would like to see the raise increase go up as I know we all deserve more pay.

Our store manager care more about his people and less about how good they can make him look.

Some of the management needs to be evaluated.

Review from Product Dept
×
Rate your company